There’s always so much more to learn and experiment…

Hola! I’m the guest blogger for today – a seventeen year old design freshman. Here’s a disclaimer: you won’t learn any tips and techniques from me. You’d be better off heading towards James Gurney’s blog or itchstudios’ tutorial for that. Neither am I going to write a ten-page autobiography of my artistic journey (I’m not experienced enough, or successful enough, for that).

Well, I lied… a little. It’s still going to be a semi-autobiography, but make that one page.

The earliest memory I had of drawing was during an art class in my kindergarten years. I was drawing a seal, following step-by-step instructions by the art teacher. It was fun, but I wasn’t fixated with art then, like all of those pencil-pushing art geniuses who always seem to be able to draw since they were two.

In my high school years, I devised a way to keep myself awake – doodling in blue-lined exercise books. I affectionately named my “sketchbooks” s[crap]books, and it became a medium for passing notes, doing flipbook animations and of course, doodling.

I didn’t become serious in drawing until around three years ago, fuelled by too much anime and manga. I was one of those artn00bs who enthusiastically posted each and every sketch I did, expecting high praises but often receiving none. I still haven’t kicked that habit yet.

Somehow I’ve landed myself in a design course in Temasek Polytechnic, naively believing that I’ll make a future (and a living) out of my creative endeavors. Along the way I’ve make some friends who are in the creative industry and got a little more exposed to the art scene in Singapore. Improved my craft a little. Met some friends who gently nudge each other along.

And the more I know, the more I realize how much more I don’t know.

That’s what keeps me going. There’s always so much more to learn and experiment. I’m definitely not that good yet, so I’ll become better. Someone once said that you have to do a thousand bad paintings before you can paint a good one. Right now I’m in the process of doing those bad paintings.

During the mock interview that I had to attend for a module in school, I learnt an important principle: anyone can claim that they are passionate about their work, but do you have action to back your words? It was a wake-up call for me. Imagine going for an interview for a position at Imaginary Friends or Ubisoft and telling them, “I know I’m not really good now, but I have PASSION!” Not gonna work, nuh-uh.

A lousy portfolio is still a lousy portfolio, no matter how you try to disguise it. All the nicely textured papers and expensive leather folders wouldn’t save it. With that said, I ought to be practicing now. Goodbye!

c00ki3

One thought on “There’s always so much more to learn and experiment…

  1. Learning is a life long process that’d never end. Let’s face it – the more you know, the more you don’t 🙂

Comments are closed.