Why we need to fail

Some time back, I wrote about me working on this project to launch a magazine. Problems cropped up and I was forced to put it on hold while I search for a solution and more funds.

It wasn’t easy to put something you’re totally into on hold but I believe there is a time and place for it to eventually come to fruition. It doesn’t quite count as failure but you know obstacles in life have a way of making you feel as if you suck. At a time when nothing seem to go right for me, it was truly a downer.

After a chat with a friend, I decided to see it as a blessing in disguise. I mean, I was lucky it happened when it did and not at a time when it would have been impossible to pull out without losses. Besides, I had learnt quite a fair bit from this experience and I knew I would be able to handle it differently the next time.

I try to apply this mentality to my writing as well. I mean, of course there are times when I felt sore and severely let down by life but I guess I’ve come to terms with the fact that life is never and will never be a bed of roses for me. I live for the little thrills when I see my articles published and know that someday, somehow, somewhere, I will make my dreams come true.

Failure is something that all of us dread and I’m pretty sure my loyal readers who’re mangaka or writers know that as well as anyone else. But before you go all emo and down jugs of alcohol to dull your senses to the pain of failure, remember one thing. Failure only makes you stronger and that’s why you need to fail.

Hope my post didn’t make you too depressed. Heh. =3

moon

