Virtual Book Tour #3-Nature, Solitude, and Memory by Lok Sin Min

This week’s title is by a uni friend of mine who also happens to be an artist. Sin Min put in a lot of blood and sweat into the production of this book so I want to do him this honour by featuring him on AMWC although the book is not strictly fiction or manga. =)

Can you briefly tell us what your book is all about?
The book is a collection of my drawings from 2002 to 2007. I selected the drawings based on two factors: a) they are my best drawings and b) they show my development as an artist over the years.

What are some of your inspirations when you were creating your artwork?
My influences include Expressionist artist Kathe Kollwitz, Spanish artist Tapies, as well as Chinese painters Huang Binhong and Li Keran. I was also inspired by the writings of Thoreau. Where music is concerned, I was listening to Japanese music by Le Couple, Miki Imai and Jun Shibata.

Which is your favourite artwork and why?
Tough question — for now I think it would be Wall 2006. I like its abstract quality…the many layers of strokes to give the wall a feeling of something dense…somewhat like the close-ups of Chinese paintings…

What made you decide to self-publish?
I wanted to share good art with people…I hope that someone would find my drawings inspiring and buy my book.

Do you have any advice for aspiring writers/creators who want to publish their own works?
The most important thing is to be true to yourself. While it is important to get feedback from people and listen to what friends (or even strangers) have to say, you must have your sense of direction and purpose and stay true to it. At the end of the day maybe about four people would buy your book, or even less than that, but you must not compromise your artistic integrity or give up on your sense of purpose. Keep an open mind. Think critically.

Sin Min’s book is available for sale at the following websites and stores:

Want to be featured as an author/mangaka on the AMWC Virtual Book Tour? Check out our simple guidelines and we look forward to hearing from you! =3

2 thoughts on “Virtual Book Tour #3-Nature, Solitude, and Memory by Lok Sin Min

  1. Pingback: P or E? That is the question. « Moon's Revolution:

  2. Pingback: P or E? That is the question « The Aspiring Mangaka & Writers Club

Comments are closed.