interview: Dash from Expanded Horizons

Heya guys! Today I have the pleasure of inviting Dash from Expanded Horizons to share his/her story on how the web magazine for speculative fiction came about. =3

So just who is Dash? Well, he/she’s the editor of Expanded Horizons and he/she works with two other people to bring speculative fiction to readers the world over. I had emailed him/her one of my stories for submission to his/her web mag and he/she was gracious enough to not only accept my humble tale but also agree to do a short interview for the AMWC blog. =3

Hope you guys like the interview!

When and why did you decide to set up Expanded Horizons for speculative fiction?

I got the idea to start my magazine in May 2008 while driving to a friend’s apartment. The day before, I had had the honor of hearing Justice Breyer (United States Supreme Court) speak in the afternoon about justice and the law, and Neil Gaiman speak in the evening about speculative fiction, and these two inspirational speeches marinated in my mind for a day… and voila, a magazine concept emerged.

Several weeks earlier I had gone searching online for the sort of market I eventually set up, and could not find one, and out of that realization that it had never been done in this way, I decided to do it. Thus was born a magazine whose mission it is to diversify the genre of speculative fiction and to serve as a venue to showcase underrepresented voices in the genre.

Do you have any plans to make Expanded Horizons a print magazine?

No. To do so would be cost-prohibitive, as we are entirely a volunteer effort run on out-of-pocket expenditures and donations. To go to print format would also cause problems with distribution- on the web, we can be international very cheaply, and reach a very large and diverse audience very quickly. In print form, it would be very hard for authors and readers around the world to find us. Our international scope is one of our greatest assets.

Why did you choose speculative fiction as a submission criteria?

I’ve always been interested in speculative fiction, since early childhood. I grew up both reading and writing speculative fiction. That’s my home, and I’d never start any other genre of magazine (that I can think of!).

Could you tell us a little on how you and the rest of your crew on Expanded Horizons met?

Jacie and I were friends both in real life and online before I decided to start Expanded Horizons- she and I met through a mutual (in real life) friend. Prezzey and I were online friends before she became involved in Expanded Horizons- she and I met in an online forum.

moon

One thought on “interview: Dash from Expanded Horizons

  1. Hi,
    thanks for the great quality of your blog, every time i come here, i’m amazed.

Comments are closed.