Female vs male creators

When JK Rowling first published her book, it was with her initials and last name.

Her publisher Bloomsbury feared that the target audience of young boys might be reluctant to buy books written by a female author, and requested that she use two initials, rather than reveal her first name.

Source: Wikipedia

I’m just curious. Does gender really influence your decision to buy or read a book/manga? Personally I don’t even take note of the creator’s name or gender until I’ve read the book and decide I like the style.

Perhaps it’s in the different way both genders tell their story. There are certain stylistics that characterizes a male or female creator. What I’m curious is this however, do male creators sell better than female creators? Do you feel more drawn to books that are done by a male creator?

Checking out the list of female authors who wrote under a male or gender-neutral pseudonym, it would seem that this is true. What do you guys think? Joanna Scott thinks women writers can’t be compared to men writers as they defy all categories.

JK Rowling’s books were meant for boys but I’ve seen adults (and girls) reading Harry Potter on the MRT and till this day, her book sales are ever rising, despite the fact that she is a woman. So does it really matter at all? Shouldn’t the writing/drawing/story-telling style be more of the deciding factor rather than the gender of the writer? =x

Oh wells, do share your thoughts with me. =3

And if you’re curious about whether your writing style is that of male or female? Try the Gender Genie. =3

According to the test, I’m a male writer. Heh.

PS for added reading: Can Female Novelists Write From a Male Viewpoint?

moon

4 thoughts on “Female vs male creators

  1. Hehe, same thing, it doesn’t matter whether the author is male or female, as long as the story’s good, I’ll just read it. It’s the same when it comes to comics, I don’t have a specific preference.

    Well I guess young boys are really picky? Coz they will be in the stage where girls=yuck. At least that’s what i think.

  2. According to the Gender Genie, 80% of the time I am male and when I’m being female, I’m soggy-depressive. That said, I prefer male writers, because they’re less likely to be emo/angsty/belabour the characters’ emotions to death/pound on their topic, be it domestic violence or women’s rights, until I put the book down just to get away from the proselytizing. I read fiction for the sake of fiction, not to have someone’s viewpoint stuffed unsubtly down my throat.

    That doesn’t mean male = good and female = bad, of course. There are awesome female writers. And there’s definitely no shortage of appalling prose by males. But I do notice that on the whole (NOT ALL THE TIME) male writers tend to focus more on the story and backstory, the surroundings and the science, while female writers tend to ignore plot holes in favour of sticking with the characters, their lives and their emotions (I plead guilty).

    Also, I’ve read that there is an undercurrent of sex in the work of all male writers. I think it’s at least partly true, even for the great classic masters of science fiction, and let’s not even mention Poe, huh?

    As to preferring male over female writers, if it’s an author I’m not acquainted with, I personally don’t even notice the author’s name unless I like the book. I thought C.J. Cherryh was male for quite a long time until I flipped to the inner back cover one day. (Then a lot of things fell into place.)

    Now, gender-wise…is my name male or female? Dum dee dum…

  3. eh imo…it’s the usual case of gender-stereotyping at work. I’m a huge romance fan so i avoid male authors at all costs. Don’t like how impersonal and ‘cold’ they tend to get (stereotyping much?) Unless i’m looking for a non-romance book to read…but i’ll still go for the more sensitively written books like those by neil gaiman etc. ahah.

    btw to mint above. Female, of course. without a doubt ;O

  4. Yes, it matters a lot of me. I rarely read male writers. When I taught at Portland State University, I was criticized for not knowing some of the white male academians–but then, I replied, you know nothing of the women or people of color.

Comments are closed.