By Moon Alone interview

mooncastHi guys! Today I have the honour of interviewing Honoel A. Ibardolaza who published his own webcomic at ByMoonAlone. I personally feel that his art is amazing and you guys should check out his works at ByMoonAlone, his portfolio or his deviantart account.

Why did you decide to publish your comic on the web?

My reason for publishing online is actually twofold:

1) It’s economically viable as there is no printing cost when you are publishing online. You can use a different page dimension and have full color and it won’t cost you even a cent to have a wide distribution. There’s also something very appealing in the fact that you can publish online and have that update accessible instantaneously to whomever has internet access wherever he may be in the world.

2) My other reason that perhaps carries the most weight is that I have complete creative freedom with my story. No editors or publishers to tell me what I can and cannot do. As a writer and artist, I would like nothing better than to be left alone to draw and write what I want and there’s no other avenue aside from the Internet that allows me such freedom.

What gave you the ideas/inspired you for your comic?

My comic is inspired by a lot of things. But mostly it’s inspired by the books I’ve read and movies I’ve seen that I have fallen totally in love with.

Are there any plans to publish it as a book?

Yes. I’ve always wanted to hold it in my hands as an actual physical product. If I can’t find a publisher for it, there’s a big possibility that I may just self publish a limited run just to satiate my own personal sense of fulfillment.

Tell us about your journey as a comic artist, has it been difficult?

I’ve always been interested in drawing since I was a kid but I didn’t take it seriously until right after college when I realized that you can actually make a living in illustration. I started my comics career submitting to local anthologies while starting up my own webcomic. It was through my webcomic that I attracted a manga publisher who wanted to hire me. Since then I’ve drawn two books for that publisher and I’m currently about to start on my third. I think the hardest thing in being a comic artist is that you have to stay true to yourself and never give up even if it seems no one is reading your work.

Who do you count as your inspiration as an artist?

I can’t really say I have one person to count as my inspiration. There are some artists whose work I admire but honestly I can’t remember the artists’ name. I appreciate art for what it is and I’ve always made it into a point to separate the artist from the work he’s done.

What advice would you give an aspiring comic artist?

Drawing comics for a living is a very personal and lonely career and most of the time the pay is absolutely horrible. If you want to have a secure future and don’t want to worry about where your next meal will come from, I would highly suggest earning a degree in accounting or information technology. But if you absolutely love to draw, and would rather stay home and draw all night into the morning and not have a social life, then there’s no better and more fulfilling career than drawing comics.

2 thoughts on “By Moon Alone interview

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention By Moon Alone interview « The Aspiring Mangaka & Writers Club -- Topsy.com

  2. I like this web really much.

    This is such a great web.
    And it is not like other money orientating place, the info here is super valuable.

    I am definitely bookmarking it as well as sharin it with my friends.

    🙂

Comments are closed.